Character Interviews

Interview with Blair Fletcher from Trials for the Princess Ryanne

I: Today we have Blair from Trials for the Princess Ryanne joining us. Thank you for being here today Blair.

B: Thanks for havin’ me.

I: So, if it’s alright with you we’ll just jump right in. What’s your full name and do you have any nicknames?

B: Full name’s Blair Fletcher. Don’t really got a nickname, ‘least one I like anyway.

I: Alright, fair enough. When and where were you born? And how old would that make you today?

B: Tiny village called Greenfalls smack dab in the middle a Spring, an’ this outta be my seventeenth year.

I: Oh, interesting. Uh, who are your parents?

B: Da’s John, he’s a hunter. Brings meat home for us an’ tans an’ sells animal hides. Mam’s Ellie, far as I know she’s just a housewife.

I: Alright, do you have any siblings?

B: Three older sisters.

I: What are they like?

B: Eldest sister’s Violet. She’s alright. Never really saw eye to eye with her, you know. But she’s a good singer. Willow’s middle sister, nice enough. Closer with Violet than me though. Got the greenest thumb I know. Youngest is Hayley. She an’ I are close. Real sweet little thing. She an’ I spent a lot a time together cookin’. Got good memories with her.

I: You must really love your sisters. Um, alright, are you left or right handed?

B: Right.

I: Can you please state your hair and eye colour.

B: Dirty blonde hair an’ brown eyes.

I: And how tall are you?

B: ‘Bout six feet if I had to guess.

I: Very tall. How much schooling have you had? Did you enjoy it?

B:*Laughs* Was a little menace. Beat up the boys, terrorized the girls an’ teachers. Half the time I was either standin’ in the corner or copyin’ outta the dictionary. They were all a bunch a stuck up snobs who didn’t respect no one. All I did was knock ’em down a peg. So, no. I didn’t like it.

I: Where did you learn your skills and abilities then?

B: Forest. Finally wore da down an’ he taught me the basics. From there I refined my skill an’ got as good as I am.

I: Oh, that’s interesting. Uh, what did you want to be when you grew up?

B: Really wanted to be a hunter like my da. Have a little cabin in the middle a nowhere where no one’d bother me. Could live in complete isolation from people.

I: When and where were you the happiest?

B: By myself under the shadow of a tree, stalkin’ prey. Never get tired a that feelin’.

I: Who are your friends and what are they like?

B: Sloan’s great. Crazy as she is, she’s wicked loyal an’ strong, an’ a hell of a lot smarter than you’d give her credit for. She’s a real leader, an’ I’m happy to follow her. Cyarra’s sweet. Real timid an’ reserved but man is she brave. All that girl needs is a little self-confidence an’ she could rule the world if she wanted. But she’s too kind to ever hurt a fly.

I: What about Nydia?

B: She’s brave an’ loyal. A very out there sort a personality. Never shuts up, but she sometimes actually says stuff worth a damn.

I: When and with whom did you have your first kiss?

B: Some idiot in school. Can’t even remember his name. All I know is I guess he got dared by his friends an’ he practically shoved his tongue down my throat. Ended up breakin’ his nose ’cause a it.

I: Oh, dear. What’s you’re favourite colour?

B: Green.

I: And your favourite food?

B: Stew. Either rabbit or deer.

I: In your opinion, what’s the evilest thing a person could do?

B: Betrayal.

I: Do you believe in the existence of a soul mate or true love?

B: Think it’s out there for some people. Never happened to me yet though, so can’t say for sure.

I: Fair enough. Uh, for who or what would you die or go to otherwise extremes for?

B: People closest to me, an’ my own freedom.

I: Respectable. Which person do you wish you were closest to?

B: I allowed to skip a question?

I: Of course.

B: Skip.

I: Alright. Who is the person you respect the most, and why?

B: Sloan. She knows what she wants an’ what’s gotta get done. She does it. An’ she protects those that stand with her.

I: Aw, that’s sweet. How do you deal with pain? Both physical and emotional?

B: Physical’s easy. Grit my teeth an’ bear it. Emotional, generally I’ll get some target practice in an’ that tends to do it.

I: Alright. What would you say is your greatest strength and your greatest weakness?

B: My trackin’ abilities, hands down the best. An’ I’m not all that great at expressin’ myself though.

I: Oh, that’s fair. Um, if you could choose, how would you want to die?

B: Middle of a hunt. The hunter becomin’ the hunted.

I: That’s… concerning.

B: You asked.

I: That I did. Alright, last question. What is the one thing you’d like to be remembered for the most after you die?

B: Dunno. Don’t really care ’bout bein’ remembered by everyone. Long as people closest me don’t forget, all I care ’bout.

I: Alright, that’s fair. Is there anything else you’d like to add before we end?

B:*Shrugs* Nope.

I: Alright, thank you so much again for being here Blair.

B: Thanks again for havin’ me.

Leave a comment