Discussions

My Favourite Writing Snacks

This post may or may not have come into existence because I am hungry.

So, we all know that writers are people, mostly, and that people need to eat. Maybe I’m just the weird one who likes to eat as I work. In fact, I will pause in my work just to eat something because I feel I need. I may or may not have a problem, and I may or may not be okay with it.

Without further ado, here is my list of the best writing snacks, in my opinion.

  1. M&Ms
    mandms
    This should surprise absolutely no one who knows me. I love m&ms(I may or may not be munching on these right now). I prefer the peanut ones just for added texture. These are perfect for writing because you can be typing along and pop one(or a handful) in your mouth every once in a while. Or, if you’re like me and write in a notebook with a pen, one hand is writing, and the other if fueling your brain with these colourful delights.
  2. Pocky
    pocky
    Pocky is great! Not only is it available in a variety of flavours(Matcha and Chocolate are probably my favourites), but they’re perfect for when your hands are full. Pop a stick in your mouth and go wild. They’re a perfect hands free snack and can provide entertainment during those little lulls when you’re contemplating what to put next in your scene.
  3. Smoothies
    smoothie
    This list has been pretty sugary thus far, so why not add some fruit into the mix. I do like me a good smoothie, and they can be healthy for you if you don’t load them up with toppings and syrup. I used to drink a lot of smoothies with protein powder in them as kinda a meal supplement, so I don’t drink them as often anymore. But I do still enjoy them. And they’re perfect for writing! They’re completely hands free, and if you add a bendy straw you just need to move your head a little bit. Or position the cup perfectly in front of you so you only need to sip. The best part is they’re completely customizable. You can even blend in greens if you want or are lacking.
  4. Licorice
    licorice
    If you can’t tell by now, I got a bit of a sweet tooth. But licorice is great for writing. Much like the pocky you grab one and eat as you write, and it lasts a little while too. Plus they can provide entertainment. I prefer Twizzlers because that’s what I’ve grown up on, but you go with your own favourite brands. I’ve heard the Red Vines are popular in the states, correct me on that if I’m wrong. And it doesn’t have to be just one kind. I like the strawberry, but there’s the original black licorice, and there’s new fruity licorice too with a bunch of different flavours to keep things interesting. You can even match them up to the different scenes your writing.
  5. Chips
    chips
    I wanted to have at least one savoury item on this list, and I somehow made it. I honestly prefer chips(or crisps if you’re across the pond) when I’m editing or researching. Reading through, nibbling on chips, and punching in the smaller edits or fixing a line. Or delving deep into the history and equipment of blacksmithing. I don’t go too heavy on seasonings though, either just plain salt or a sour cream and onion flavour. Something like Doritos or cheezies would just get messy to me, but if you feel you can deal with the mess more power to you. I can’t. They’re fun, their crunch is satisfying, the only downside is they can get a little messy. But when I’m crunching on golden deliciousness I don’t overly care too much.

So that is all I have for you today. If you enjoy any of these snacks when writing or reading, drop a comment and let me know. And what are some of your favourite snacks when writing? I’d love to hear if you’d like to share.

I hope you’re having a great day, and I will see you next time.

-T.R. Flynn.

Leave a comment