Finding What Works for You

How I Deal With Writer’s Block

We all suffer from it. It is the bane of our existence. But what actually matters is how you go about dealing with writer’s block.

I have suffered from writer’s block at multiple times during my writing career so far, and I have watched many videos and read many articles about how to help overcome it. I have no shame in admitting to that. What I have noticed, however, is that it doesn’t matter if you have it regularly, sparingly, always have it, or what have you. What matters is what you do when you have it.

The first step is acknowledging that you have a creative block and instead of getting flustered and maybe trying to force something out, you step back from your piece and take a deep breath. There’s always something you can do, so don’t get frustrated.

  1. Outline.
    Before you freak out, I fully acknowledge and understand that there are pantsers out there who are allergic to outlines. Fine, whatever, skip this one if you’re that against it, but hear me out first. An outline can be very useful in keeping you on track. I’m one of those writer’s who will wander off in all directions if I don’t have arrows pointing me in the right direction. Try writing an outline to keep you on the right track. Your writer’s block could be as simple as you’re not sure where to go next. An outline can help you with this if you find you’re struggling.
  2. Work On Another Piece.
    I do not have the attention span to work on one piece from start to finish without becoming bored. Because I know this about myself I have several pieces in the works at any given time. If I cannot write one day on piece A, I work on editing piece B, or outline/thought-dumping piece C. I understand that this cannot work for everyone, but it can help if you feel like you’re just beating a piece to death. You don’t have to go working on this piece forever, but maybe just putting your main piece aside for a little while and coming back with fresh eyes is exactly what you need to get yourself through that plot hole you got yourself in.
  3. Take In Some Art.
    As writers or creators, we are always giving a high output of art. We are always putting something on a page, or computer, and sometimes we forget to take in art ourselves. Your block could just be because you’re out of creativity and you need to get some more. Some of you might be thinking that you have plenty of creativity and this isn’t the root of your block. Have you ever heard of a well running dry? That could be exactly what it is. Read a couple books. Go see a movie. Catch up on your favourite t.v. show. You need to take in art at the same rate you’re pumping it out, otherwise, your well will run dry. Take in some art, you’ll be surprised.
  4. Get A Change Of Scenery.
    Sometimes things get stale. If you’re constantly at your desk, maybe try going out to a coffee shop. Or maybe even just out to your kitchen table or living room. Go to the library. Sometimes just changing the wall your always staring at past your computer screen is all it takes. Keep in mind how you work while choosing your change of pace. If you prefer working in complete silence, a coffee shop might not be the best place for you. If you need some distraction then a library probably shouldn’t be your first choice. Always keep in mind how you work when considering these.
  5. Use A Writing Prompt.
    I use writing prompts a lot. They are wonderful and can always spark some form of creativity in me. There are scene prompts, dialogue prompts, world prompts, kill the cliques, character banks, etc. If you are needing something to fill in something in your piece, or help with a driving force, there is a prompt out there that can help you. I encourage you to look for some if you’re struggling.
  6. Reward/Treat Yourself.
    Figure out how you work. If you’re motivated by a finish line, tell yourself once you’re done your writing goal of the day you can get your favourite dinner, or go hang out with friends, or at the end of the week, you can go to a movie. If you need a little motivation to get started, settle down at your preferred location with a cup of tea/coffee/hot chocolate, and some of your favourite snacks. Have those with you while you work to keep you motivated. Your writer’s block might not be anything catastrophic but just really simple things that come from a misunderstanding of yourself and how you work.
  7. Take A Break.
    This is probably going to be a controversial point here, but sometimes the best thing you can do is put down your piece and come back to it in a bit. Remember what I said about stepping back and taking a deep breath, or putting your piece away for a little bit while you worked on something else? Hear me out, every single time you don’t feel like writing you shouldn’t take a break. But if you feel like everything you’re doing is getting you nowhere and you can’t get through this block, maybe just take a break. Take in some art, maybe research something for your pieces or a new one you want to work on. When was the last time you spent a day with your friends? Take a break. Take a day to yourself. Sometimes you need that. It could very well be harmful to your mental health if you keep forcing yourself to pump things out without proper care. This is kind of a last ditch effort if everything else hasn’t worked, but it can be effective if you need it. Just don’t fall to this as a go to.

So, these are some of the things that I do when I get writer’s block, or I just plain don’t feel like writing. These are things that work for me, and if you’re struggling with it these might help. By no means is this an extensive list of what you can do. Again I would like to express this is what works for me, these might not be a perfect fit for you but it could be a good starting point.

Is there something you do for your writer’s block that I didn’t cover here? I’d love to know if you’d like to share.

I hope you are having a great day, and if it’s not great I hope it gets better. Thank you so much for reading and I will see you next time.

-T.R. Flynn.

Leave a comment